The Netherlands Antilles Sailing Federation (NASAF) was incorporated 24 March 1987 by Norbert Bielderman and Alex Roose and was named Antillean Yacht Racing Union (AYRU). The reason they incorporated the AYRU was that windsurfer Jan Boersma, wanted to participate in the Olympic Games of Seoul 1988. Jan Boersma won a Silver Medal.

The name has been changed to Netherlands Antilles Sailing Federation on 20 December 2000.

In 2010 Just van Aanholt won a Bronze Medal at the Youth Olympic Games.

Former Presidents:

Hans van der Straaten -1997
Jan Ackermans 1997-2009
Cor van Aanholt 2009-2015
Jürgen Schneider 2015-